I played around with homemade cosmetic recipes lots as a teen but it wasn’t untill recently that I realized they work better than anything else out there. Not only are they gentle, effective and cheap, most of the expensive specialty products are only trying to mimic the properties of natural items, boasting that they include green tea or oatmeal or whatever. Lets get back to the source and cut down on plastic bottles and expensive cosmetics filled with chemicals.

First step. I purchased some glass mason jars so I could pre-mix the products and store them in the bathroom. It does take a little bit of prep time once a week to prepare the mixes.

Kaleighs exfoliating brightening face wash.

The first step to a beautiful complexion is scuffing away the dead skin and makeup that has accumulated over time. Baking soda has a beautiful fine grind perfect to gently buff away the build up. To further help break down the dead skin cells I use lemon juice. Citrus is packed with alpha-hydroxy acids which break down the bonds between dead cells, this allows the body’s natural emollient oils to reach the surface cells to moisturize and relieve dryness. For acne prone skin I add manuka honey. Manuka honey is made in New Zealand from bees feeding on manuka, which grows uncultivated throughout the country. The honey has strong antibacterial properties and has a great softening effect.  I mix all three to make a thick paste and rub it in small circular motions on my face including lips before hopping in the shower. moisturize immediately after getting out of the shower while your face is still slightly damp, the warm water opens pores and allows the moisturizer to penetrate. I use  Natures Creations Aroma Face Complex – a light oil serum.

For further brightening I dab a drip of lemon juice on dark spots left over from healed blemishes just before bed, it slowly and gently bleaches the skin back to its regular pigmentation.

Clarifying Shampoo… I’ve just began using this, so far I love it… but apparently it can be drying so ill update and let you guys know how it works.

Mix 1 tblsp baking soda with 1 cup hot water and 1 teaspoon Apple cider vinegar. Allow the baking soda to disolve before using. This made my hair feel so clean!!

Ill be experimenting with homemade conditioners tonight. please feel free to leave comments on your tricks and techniques!

