After trying the baking soda and apple cider vinegar rinse for a couple days, I enjoyed the squeaky clean feeling but it was a bit dry for my hair type. I have oily roots and dry ends. I  did a little more research on homemade shampoos, chose a few I liked and came up with a great blend of cleaning power and gentle smoothing. This is my ultimate recipe for a rich lathering, powerful and truly wonderful homemade shampoo for oily roots and dry ends.

Oily hair may be caused by excess sebum production or other factors such as hormonal imbalances or environmental toxins. Too much oil makes hair look dull, lanky and heavy. The right amount of oil, however, will make hair look shiny and glossy. The harsh, detergent type shampoos, so readily available in stores, dry the scalp temporarily but actually stimulate the scalp to produce more oil. Blending essential oils and natural shampoo combats oily hair, and these shampoos are inexpensive to make

I started with…

one water bottle with squeeze lid for shower storage
one tupperware or jar for fridge storage

4 cups hot water
3 tblsp baking soda
2 tsp  Apple cider Vinegar
1/2 cup pure castile soap (Dr Bronners citrus magic soap)
1/4 cup of fresh herbs- you can use dry if you like (lavender, rosemary, sage, lemon balm)

Rosemary cuts grease and will also make hair glossy and shiny. Sage dissolves dirt and grime and washes away easily, lemon balm is shown to help regulate oil production on the scalp. Lavender not only smells amazing its calming and soothes, and its anti fungal properties will wipe out dandruff gently and effectively.

Mix half of the hot water with the baking soda, vinegar, and castile soap. set aside.
blend the herbs into small pieces with a food processor or blender. I use a small metal tea infuser to submerge the herbs into the remaining 2 cups of water and allow this to steep for 30 mins. If you don’t have a tea infuser you can just strain out the herbs once steeped.
Mix the two together. Put half of the shampoo into the water bottle ready to be used,and the other half in the fridge for easy storage.

Enjoy the rich lather and amazing scent while using only natural products for you and the environment!

Oh and for conditioner…. this shampoo will not over dry your hair so Its unnecessary to condition!! For a little smoothing I’m used to using a synthetic silicone based shine serum which I’m sure is filled with chemicals and garbage so I threw that out… after I hopped out of the shower in place of the serum I used pure jojoba oil instead and just gently rubbed it on my hands and through the ends of my hair… it sealed the tips and was light and smooth. Jojoba is structurally and chemically very similar to the human sebum produced by the sebaceous glands in our skin, Jojoba oil is non-toxic, non-comedogenic and non-allergenic. This means that it will not clog pores and will not cause any allergic reactions. It is also not an irritant, so it can safely be used around the eyes  and on the skin.
Let me know how you guys like this recipe!

